X for Xerxes

I am Xerxes

Because of my feats, I was given the throne
I was born on the streets, I’m not home-grown
I dreamt of conquering every kingdom around mine
Without realising how this would drive me asinine
I wanted to be wealthy and accumulate all the gold
My army was stealthy and immaculate, my ambitions were bold
We fought through every weather – warm or cold
We trampled kingdoms while increasing ours four-fold
But my subjects were unhappy and named me slaughter-head
They blamed me for every green field gone red
And just as all the priests had earlier said
They all came to haunt me, the ghosts of the dead
I fear closing my eyes, I haven’t slept ever since
My name is Xerxes, I’m the Persian Prince.

2 thoughts on “I am Xerxes

Leave a Reply

